Impact Industry Cacao - Update 26

Impact Industry Cacao - Update 26 -
CAPITAL CAMP

I spent the last week in Columbia, Missouri with my wife at Capital Camp.

Some of my followers on Twitter were there, some of my investors, and some friendships I’ve built.

One of the best moments was when Jason Karp validated our entire thesis. Jason also happened to build one of the most successful chocolate companies of the modern era before exiting to Mondelez.

I’ve had a lot of moments of clarity in last 8 weeks, but this one was one of the sweetest. The 16-hour workdays, extreme stress on wife and family, and the pressure of doing this publicly all seemed to meet me in that presentation.

And rooted me deeper in the mission.

These next 15 years we have an opportunity to impact millions of people and I’m ready to commit me, my family, sweat, blood, and resources to it.

And it’s exactly where God wants us to be and the only way to accomplish it is through him.

Get Naked

One of my gifts is building deep connections in a short amount of time.

But I think the root of it is my willingness to get naked in front of people (metaphorically of course… or maybe not, If I see a cold body of water I’m stripping down and jumping in)

What I mean by this is that the quicker you are willing to expose yourself to others - bankruptcy, fears, challenges, issues - the quicker people will open up to you.

You wouldn’t be reading this right now, if I didn’t expose my whole life and bankruptcy to the world.

In today’s society, where social media and perfectly crafted images of people reign, I’ve taken a different approach. I want you to see ALL of my imperfections.

I think it creates a better community and world. It brings us closer together, puts the human back in humanity, and draws us deeper into relationships.

I also think, selfishly, it’s what will make me grow more, build better relationships, and accomplish our mission. I already know people WILL try to destroy me, my character, and my family (perks of bankruptcy) BUT if I’m willing to get naked first they lose all of their footing.

How you can help:

NEW: if you know any chocolatiers could you send them my way?

-Donate to the Agroforestry Institute

Humbled to have you on this journey.

-Hunter